Assignment 3: OLJ/Evaluative report

Part1. Evaluative Statement

At the beginning of this subject I thought I already possessed a good understanding of social networking. I have been a regular user of social media for personal and professional use and have been engaged in cyber space for the last two decades. However, when I started reading the first module, I found I was a just Internet user without knowledge of how social networking works and its importance for libraries.

Three Online Learning Journal (OLJ) Entries that have been documented as evidence of meeting the learning outcomes of the subject are

OLJ Task: Delicious Bookmarking

I have created new account for INF 506 and have used Delicious bookmarking extensively while studying this subject, having saved 37 links. I have found this to be the most useful social network for studying this subject. Delicious is very helpful for building a list of resources for to use for my study.
According to Vander Wal (2007), “Folksonomy is the result of personal free tagging of information and objects (anything with a URL) for one’s own retrieval.” Delicious allows me to use this folksominy, tag any articles and websites related to my interests and easily categorise items in my account.
In addition, users including me, can ‘follow’ other people and see what they are adding and tagging in their accounts. If there is something relevant or that interests me, then I can add it to my own list of items.

In the teaching of research skills, Delicious can be useful for assisting students to keep track of online resources needed for their studying, assignments and group projects. Citing references is easier with Delicious where URLs are saved, and graphics and annotations are automatically added.

As Rosenfeld (2006) mentions in his blog on folksonomies, the tags are created and added by the different users without supporting controlled vocabularies applied by professionals. This might result in the users visiting off topic items as tagging is personalised and open to interpretation. I and other users should keep this negative note in my mind. However, In spite of this issue, I can still say that Delicious is a practical social networking platform that is beneficial to all users.

 OLJ Task: ASU Libraries

Casey & Savastinuk (2006) state Library 2.0 is a new model for library service that encourages users to involve themselves in the creation of both the physical and virtual services with Web 2.0 tools. However before beginning INF506 I was familiar with some Web 2.0 tools but did not have any idea about the term Library 2.0 and no understanding of what it referred to. It is gradually becoming clear from my reading in this topic, but I still have much to learn. Also I found many experienced librarians still struggle with the concept of Library 2.0 (Farkas, 2008).

Through the library channel of Arizona State University (ASU) libraries (2014) I have begun developing an understanding of what it means for me. I believe that ASU libraries have used various types of web 2.0 tools to achieve the 4Cs of collaboration, conversation, community and content creation. ASU libraries are using videos, (the library minute series is especially excellent) live chat, user-centered content creation such as personalised playlists and research citation lists. Furthermore they are integrating SN tools such as Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and Vimeo to their practice of Library 2.0. Examining their practice on the library channel has assisted me to further development of my understanding of how these tools can apply in school libraries and helped me understand the gaps in my skill set.

OLJ Task: Building Academic Library 2.0

This is an excellent and persuasive presentation by Meredith Farkas (2007) highlights various types of the tools in Library 2.0. The most significant aspect of creating Web 2.0 applications is a knowing the users. By observing the users from a wide range of point of view such as age, languages and cultural interest, a solid understanding of the target audience can be developed. I have not previously worked as a member of libraries staff, but I believe it is common practice to develop an understanding of students’ requirements and to provide materials and resources in order to meet the needs in the class rooms. I can adapt the skills which I have developed as a teacher of Japanese in order to gain an understanding of the users’ needs Off course I must develop my skills as a librarian in Library 2.0 as well.

For example, the article by Lazaris (2009) “Designing websites for kids: Trends and best practices”, it shows how various web pages provided by a diverse range of organisations try to capture their audience with different techniques. In addition, King’s slide show (2013) convince me libraries are sellers to sell services, but not for profit. Throughout this article and slide show, I found I should develop sufficient skills to be able to develop some of the complex web pages which use Flash or JavaScript, as if the website is not attractive the users/visitors are unlikely to return.

Furthermore, Abram (2007) points out that Library 2.0 is mainly concerned with Web 2.0 applications in a library environment. Currently, many library users bring their own digital tools to libraries such as PC, iPads, e-readers and tablets. It is a big change compared with the past. The library should adapt and provide a more facilitator environment for those users in order for them to work in comfort.

Part 2: Reflective Statement

In my first OLJ task I was described how I expected to learn new knowledge, skills and understanding of Web 2.0 technologies. As these technologies are essential to build a school library with Library 2.0 status.

Having nearly completed INF506, honestly, I am not sure if my understanding of Library 2.0 is fully developed to apply to my personal life and my professional life as a future teacher librarian. Therefore, even after finishing this subject, I must continue developing my understandings of Library 2.0.

My development as a learner.

Before starting this subject I had used some social networking technologies. However I have to say I was not an enthusiastic and skilled user. Throughout studying this subject, as a slow starter to the world of social networking, I spent time exploring Web 2.0 tools. Tools and services including which I have limited experience with including Diigo, Weebly, LinkedIn, Edmodo and Second life. It was time consuming, but I found they are fascinating. Although I cannot say I am skilful at managing all tools, I think they have advantageous capabilities that could be integrated into the school library. However I still see myself as a reluctant user of social sites. This subject has given me the opportunity to enjoy using Web 2.0 and establish my confidence with the use of new media technologies.

Furthermore I think I have acquired a deeper understanding of the theory and practice of Library 2.0. For example even though I have used Delicious and RSS feeds in last few years, I have never deeply thought and examine their functions. I thought it was just useful and easy for me. However now I have understood its functions and possibilities within a library context.

Thus I believe that I am now more aware of the possibilities of using Web 2.0 in learning and teaching contexts, both in the classroom and the library. This awareness includes my new knowledge and skills in understanding and applying Web 2.0 including socially-driven tools like blogs, wikis, social networking, pod casting.

My development as information professional

I think to become a teacher librarian you must be effective information professional

  • Be aware and knowledgeable of a wide range of Web 2.0 tools and technologies and establish appropriate skills to manage these tools. Furthermore, it is also essential that information professionals learn and develop the skills not only as they apply to Web 2.0 tools but also to be a role model for other library staff and colleagues.
  • To be able to evaluate and select Web 2.0 tools that are useful to the library and its users. For example, RSS feeds would be a useful Web 2.0 tool for both the library and the users as it can alert users of relevant and up-to-date news and information about events, procedures, new acquisitions and other topics of users’ interests effectively.
  • To provide the users with appropriate services which their meet their needs. Farkas (2007) emphasis the importance of understanding what the users want. It is definitely worthy of consideration when providing valid and meaningful services to the users. As a future teacher librarian, another consideration is that it is obvious that many users at school libraries are generally active users of the Internet and Web 2.0 tools. This can be a strong factor to consider when planning Library 2.0 features.

Harnessing Web 2.0 technologies is strategy to enhance the library collection and services. However; I should remember this by Cohen (2006), “I will recognize that library change slowly, and will work with my colleagues to expedite our responsiveness to change” as all staff at the library may not be comfortable to embrace new technologies.”
The Librarian’s 2.0 Manifesto by Linda Cohen (2006) has convinced me very much. This briefly details the essential attributes a librarian 2.0 should have. In my capacity as a prospective teacher librarian, I will also need to engage and guide students aware of the potentially devastating effects of thoughtless, inappropriate or malicious online behaviour and aid them to make wise choices when interacting in a cyber space (Oxley, 2011).

Reference

Abram, S. (2007) Web 2.0, library 2.0 and librarian 2.0: preparing for the 2.0 world. Retrieved from http://www.academia.edu/1019473/Web_2.0_Library_2.0_and_Librarian_2.0_Preparing_for_the_2.0_World

Arizona State University (ASU) libraries. (2014). the library channel. [ONLINE] Available at: https://lib.asu.edu/librarychannel/ [Last Accessed 20 May 2014].

Casey, M. & Savastinuk, L. (2006). Library 2.0: Service for the next-generation library, Library Journal, 1 September. Retrieved from http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2010/05/technology/library-2-0/

Cohen, L. [YouTube] (2006, November, 9). A librarian’s 2.0 manifesto. [Video file] Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZblrRs3fkSU

Farkas, M. [YouTube] (2007, November, 19). Building academic library 2.0 [Video file] Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_uOKFhoznI

Farkas, M.(2008, January, 24). The essence of Library 2.0? Information wants to be free. [Blog post] Retrieved from http://meredith.wolfwater.com/wordpress/2008/01/24/the-essence-of-library-20/

King, D. (2013) Creating customer experience – on the web, in the library, in the community [Slides] Retrieved from http://www.slideshare.net/davidleeking/creating-customer-experience-on-the-web-in-the-library-in-the-community-25127829

Lazaris, L. (2009, November, 27). Designing websites for kids: Trends and best practices, Smashing Magazine, Retrieved from http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2009/11/27/designing-websites-for-kids-trends-and-best-practices/

OLJ Task: Delicious bookmarking. (2014, May, 13) [Blog post]  Retrieved from http://pandamoco.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/module2-olj-task-delicious/

OLJ Task: ASU library. (2014, May, 13) [Blog post]  Retrieved from http://pandamoco.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/module3-olj-task-asu-the-libray-minute/

OLJ Task: Building academic library 2.0 (2014, May, 13) [Blog post]  Retrieved from http://pandamoco.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/module3-olj-task-building-academic-library-2-0/

Oxley, C. (2011). Digital citizenship: developing an ethical and responsible online culture. ACCESS, 25(3), 5-9.

Rosenfeld, L. (2005, January, 6). Folksonomies? how about metadata ecologies? [Blog post]. Retrieved from  http://www.louisrosenfeld.com/home/bloug_archive/000330.html

Vander Wal, T. (2007, February, 2). Folksonomy, folksonomy coinage and definition.. [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://www.vanderwal.net/index.html

Leave a Reply

